The Franklin B. Walter Outstanding Educator Award is presented annually by the Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities (OCECD) to an educator or team of educators from each of Ohio’s sixteen SST regions who have demonstrated making a difference in the lives of students with disabilities by showing leadership among their colleagues.  School district administrators are invited to nominate eligible recipients in the spring of each year.  Winners chosen by each region are automatically award recipients at the state level and are recognized at a banquet in their honor which this year will be held on June 22nd in Columbus.

For the first time in the history of the award, recipients are from Meigs County and serve as members of the Meigs Local School District’s special education subcommittee. The subcommittee has worked on improving instruction for students with disabilities by introducing a district-wide co-teaching initiative which has included components of staff surveys, on-going professional development, and a day-long waiver day devoted to issues surrounding co-teaching implementation.  The committee meets twice monthly and has also worked on developing a monitoring tool to oversee the efficacy of the co-teaching initiative and has worked to change Meigs Local School District’s Improvement Plan to include a co-teaching component.  Members of the committee are: Karla Brown, David Deem, Beth Duffy, Lisa Froehlich, Mary Hawk, Lorri Lightle, Stacie Roach, Pam Vogt, Bill Francis and Bonnie Williams.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Franklin B. Walter who served as Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1977 to 1991, the longest post held by any state superintendent in Ohio’s history.  Dr. Walter is hugely credited for the development of the nation’s first statewide plan for addressing the needs of children with disabilities.

Add comment